Select Page

Carlsbad Public Library Board of Trustees

The Carlsbad Public Library Board of Trustees is comprised of nine (9) trustees appointed by the Mayor with the approval of the City Council. Regular meetings of the Board are held at the Library Annex on the 2nd Wednesday of each month at 4:30 p.m.. Among the interview and recommendation of a Library Director presented to the Mayor and City Council for appointment, the main responsibilities of the Board include establishing general policies that govern the mission of the Library, developing long-range plans and adopting rules and regulations for such operations. As the Board diligently manages and cares for the local facilities, they serve as a liaison to the city government to obtain funding, endeavors to stimulate gifts and endowments while maintaining contact with other state officials, community leaders and local organizations relative to any other Library matters.

Board Members:

Robert Chavez
Mark Howard
Allie Cooper
Bernita Smith-Payne
Chris Owens
Rebecca Cannon
Veronica Barnhart
Heather Counts
Deborah Beard



Carlsbad, New Mexico - Official City Website